silver

my silver // graphite, oil pastel, ink, watercolor, colored pencil

+++

“One of the Twelve, who was called Judas Iscariot,
went to the chief priests and said,
‘What are you willing to give me
if I hand him over to you?’
They paid him thirty pieces of silver,
and from that time on he looked for an opportunity to hand him over.”

– from Mt 26:14-25

+++

I wanted the art work to speak for itself this week, but I think this piece needs a bit of background.  Here I drew 30 circles to represent the 30 pieces of silver and then filled in each with thoughts of what and how I have betrayed Christ in my life.  It may not have been literally handing him over to death.  But I do choose other things and opportunities over him.  Money is not usually the motivator.  It is much more likely to be a choice between Christ’s pilgrim way and security or Christ’s humble way and recognition.

Leave a comment